Dear Catie, we’ve been at this for an entire year.

Can you believe it? How incredible is it that you and I – queens of forgetting to keep up with blogging – have managed this? Go team! High five!

I look forward to many more posts from the pair of us as we continue to wade through the waters – high and low tides – of life.

Really quick, though, let’s refresh with our new and old readers what this is about:

 

 

Catie and I keep it freakin’ real:
  • Catie and I (Miranda) are real people, in the real world, with real challenges and struggles, triumphs and ‘bragging-rights’ stories.
  • We won’t be sugar coating anything. If you can’t handle the fire, stay further back away.
  • We won’t be down-right rude and bitch about / spread rumors about people like Gossip Girl. That’s not what this is. This is about us, about people we love and care for, and other, MORE IMPORTANT things. (Though, I personally enjoy a good episode or two of GG…)
  • You know those people who have awesome lives with awesome pictures and smiling, inspiration faces and winky emoticons on every thing they do and you basically wish you could be as happy as these seemingly perfect people? Yeah, you won’t find that here. As if we didn’t make this clear enough yet, Catie and I are real people, and will keep it real (and imperfect.) For sure. 
  • Moral Absolution has no place here. Don’t bring your judgments when you click on this blog or it’s comments button.

 

 

Why do the Blog?
  • I feel like there are other people out there who are like us and can relate to at least something from this blog that we say. If they happen to stumble upon this blog, find a post that explains their situation or inspires them or in some way makes them feel like they can keep on rolling… Then it’s an honor for Catie and myself to have given them such a thing. I thought about this blog and knew there was few people who would be better qualified than Catie. We are both going through so much, yet it’s so different for both of us. We need all the help we can get. Doesn’t everyone?
  • We are freaking hilarious (or at least we think we are), and we hope you’ll smile.

 

 

About the Blog-Authors
Catie

What aliases do you have?

I have been called lots of things…not all of them nice, but most people know me by one of these: Catie, Coffeecakez, LittleRedDevil, Xxazavale, Lavoux, Desert Gypsy, and Nirra or Nirrabex. For anyone wondering what’s with the wild array of names they are either from former blogs or gamer tags of some sort.

Where are you from?

 I am from a little city in Texas. West Texas. That’s important because west Texas is totally different from East Texas. While Miranda has grown more fond of city living I have grown more fond of ‘country’ living and am hoping to eventually acquire a place outside my little city’s limits.

Why do you write?

 Because once I started writing I couldn’t stop. When I don’t do it, I miss it, crave it, and feel disorganized without it. I write because I love to write.

What is the most important thing about you that we should know?

 That I am extremely passionate and complex. Sometimes it seems like my emotions are all the ALL THE WAY UP or ALL THE WAY DOWN with no middle ground. They are. Sometimes it seems like I am a big contradiction. I am.  I am also probably one of the least judgmental people you will ever meet. Your demons aren’t going to scare me off.

Who do you wake up for every day?

 I wake up for myself. While I realize there are other players, some of them really big players, like my sweet little girl, and my boyfriend, the truth is that most of the time I get up each day for me. I think divorce awakened me to that.

Do you have a favorite genre of music?

 I like almost every type of music, though if I had to pick a favorite it would be Indie. Even my favorite Christian singer is Indie. I am also really really moved by piano or bagpipe music.

Do you have a favorite book? 

This is an impossible question. Haha. I love books more than both Music and Movies. David Eddings is my favorite fantasy author and fantasy is my favorite genre probably. Augusten Burroughs and David Sedaris have played a part in my reading exploits and are two of my favorite authors outside of the fantasy genre. “Captivating,” by Stasi Eldredge changed my faith and “The Happiness Project,” by Gretchen Rubin changed my outlook on life.  My life is too full of books to pick just one.

Do you have a favorite movie?

Once again this is easier if I can group. I love Scifi/Fantasy/post apocalypses movies like The Star Wars series,  LoTR series, The Hobbit movies, The Harry Potter series, Pitch Black, Star Trek, The Hunger Games movies, Divergent … ect.

I also like dramas that are along the lines of Braveheart, Schindler’s list, Gladiator, Léon: The Professional, The Departed,  A Beautiful Mind, Good Will Hunting, V for Vendetta, Black Hawk Down,  Hotel Rwanda, True Grit, Gran Torino…ect.

I like Every Disney Movie Ever. In fact I like most children’s movies period.

I also like movies like Snatch, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Layer Cake, and RocknRolla.

 

Miranda

What aliases do you have?

I’ve gone by a number of things. Atkeisson is the most common alias, but lately it’s been mirandamojo. I’ve also been known as Jewels, Eiona, and Mojo, obviously. You can call me any of these or simply, Miranda. You can find out more about me as Mojo here.

Where are you from?

I am from Dallas, Texas. Specifically, I am in North Dallas, rather than just being in the metroplex. I love city life. I used to live in the countryside, and it just wasn’t for me. The city life, however, is full of life, bustling, and busy!

Why do you write?

I write because I am a writer. Whether this talent and skill takes me anywhere in life, it doesn’t matter. I write because I can, because I am.

What is the most important thing about you that we should know?

The most important thing you need to know about me is that I am a fighter. I don’t mean cage-fights or physical violence. I mean, emotionally and spiritually, I don’t give up. I am a fighter. A survivor.

Who do you wake up for every day?

My kiddo, and myself.

Do you have a favorite genre of music?

I seem to really dig the Indie / Acoustic scene, but I really enjoy all kinds of music. There’s very little I don’t enjoy. (Catie, I’ve even given Grunge a new try! Hah!)

Do you have a favorite book? 

I have a top three list, in no particular order, because picking a favorite is too difficult: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, and The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult.

Do you have a favorite movie?

JunoShe is my spirit animal in almost all things, but especially humor and attitude.

The Sound of Music. I could watch this musical forever and ever.

Leave a Reply

